Main Menu


September 2017 newsletter


“Your positive action combined with positive thinking results in success.” Shiv Khera

New faculty, experienced faculty, emeritus faculty, join us!

The University of Utah Faculty Club consists of individuals from both the main and health sciences campuses who meet on a monthly basis to mingle and share our experiences.

We meet on the first Friday of each month at 5:00- 7.30pm in the Marriott University Park Hotel in Research Park on Wakara Way.

 

We serve a buffet meal with alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages.

Remember, there ain’t no party without people!

Please join and show up at the party to make it a success!

We have many other regular social get-togethers:

Summer and winter wine tasting parties,

basketball games, adults’ holiday dinner party, children’s holiday party,

annual business meeting, and more!

Faculty Club members enjoy the first social and annual croquet game!

Recent Events

End of Year Business Meeting: On May 9, we had our annual business meeting. During this meeting, newly elected board members were introduced.

 

Wine and Beer Tasting Party: Faculty were able to blind-taste a variety of California white and red wines, as well as local brewery beers, and decide which they liked best.  A fun time was had by all.

Cabin Bash: We celebrated the new cabin renovations with a BBQ lunch and games in the beautiful mountain setting. The Faculty Club cabin has been beautifully remodeled and is in the Uintas, just outside of Kamas. Great attendance created a fun atmosphere with folks going on hikes, drives and other adventures.  Lunch was catered by Pat’s BBQ and was delicious – thanks to Gillian for helping with food.

 

 

 

Wild Flower hike at Brighton Ski Resort: The Faculty Club met to celebrate the peak of wildflower blooms with a guided hike at Brighton Ski Resort (picture below)

 

 

Red Butte Garden: We enjoyed a docent-led tour of the new Water Conservation Garden at Red Butte Gardens, with snacks and drinks following the walk.

 

Upcoming Events:

October Social- October 6

November Social- November 3

Children’s Holiday Party- December 8

Faculty Club Holiday Party- December 14

 

 

Do not forget the Member benefits:

Invitation to you and your significant other to all Faculty Club events

Yearly Children’s Party – show your community involvement

Adults’ Holiday Party and White Elephant Gift Exchange

Discount (20%) on all Marriott Hotel meals

Discount on University Marriott Hotel stay

 

2017-2018 Faculty Club Executive Committee

President: Mohammad Mirfakhrai, Library Science (mohammad.mirfakhrai@utah.edu)

Past President: Judith Warner, Ophthalmology, (Judith.warner@hsc.utah.edu)

President-Elect: Xan Johnson, Theater, (xan.s.johnson@utah.edu)

Treasurer: Evert and Roxine Lawton, (roxlawton@comcast.net)

Secretary: Gillian Tufts, Nursing, (gillian.tufts@nurs.utah.edu)

Social Secretary: Eleanor Divver-Shields, Health Promotion & Education, (edivver@utah.gov)

2017-2018 Faculty Club Board Members

John Burton, Family and Consumer Studies, (johnburton850@msn.com)

David Pendell, Art/Art History, (davidann@sisna.com)

Ashok Tuteja, Gastroenterology, (ashok.tuteja@hsc.utah.edu)

Alison Crum, Ophthalmology, (alison.crum@hsc.utah.edu)

Patrick Shea, Biology, (pas@patrickashea.com)

Dave Morrison, Libraries, (dave.morrison@utah.edu)

New Members:

Susie Sanderson, Nurse practitioner, Pediatrics (susan.sanderson@hsc.utah.edu)

Yuan Ji, Pathology, ARUP Laboratories (yuan.ji@aruplab.com),

 

Go to: https://facultyclub.utah.edu/ for further information and application forms for current and emeritus faculty.